Home / Magical Realism

Magical Realism

Practical Magic Series by Alice Hoffman

Practical Magic Series by Alice Hoffman Practical Magic author Alice Hoffman has added a new and engrossing title to her Owens’ family! The Rules of Magic follows the two aunts in Practical Magic, detailing their own mother’s fears about their burgeoning powers and the sisters’ journey. Practical Magic The Owens sisters confront the challenges of life and love in this bewitching novel from New York Times bestselling author Alice Hoffman. For more than two hundred years, the Owens women have been …

Read More »

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water. As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North …

Read More »

The Gloaming by Kirsty Logan

The Gloaming by Kirsty Logan Mara’s island is one of stories and magic. She knows she’ll eventually end her days atop the cliff, turned to stone and gazing out at the horizon like all the villagers that went before her, drawn by the otherworldly call of the sea. Her whole family will be there too, even her brother Bee and her sister Islay. But the island and the sea do what they want, and when …

Read More »

The Third Angel by Alice Hoffman

The Third Angel by Alice Hoffman In The Third Angel, Hoffman weaves a magical and stunningly original story that charts the lives of three women in love with the wrong men: Headstrong Madeleine Heller finds herself hopelessly attracted to her sister’s fiancé. Frieda Lewis, a doctor’s daughter and a runaway, becomes the muse of an ill-fated rock star. And beautiful Bryn Evans is set to marry an Englishman while secretly obsessed with her ex-husband. At the …

Read More »

The Lifters by Dave Eggers

The Lifters by Dave Eggers Journey to an underground world where adventure awaits and heroes are made in this middle grade novel from the bestselling, Pulitzer-nominated author of The Monk of Mokhaand Her Right Foot. When Gran and his family move to Carousel, he has no idea that the town is built atop a secret. Little does he suspect, as he walks his sister to school or casually eats a banana, that mysterious forces lurk mere inches …

Read More »

The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan

The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new …

Read More »

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand THINGS FINLEY HART DOESN’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT: • Her parents, who are having problems. (But they pretend like they’re not.) • Being sent to her grandparents’ house for the summer. • Never having met said grandparents. • Her blue days—when life feels overwhelming, and it’s hard to keep her head up. (This happens a lot.) Finley’s only retreat is the Everwood, a forest kingdom that exists in …

Read More »

Swimmer Among the Stars: Stories by Kanishk Tharoor

Swimmer Among the Stars: Stories by Kanishk Tharoor

Swimmer Among the Stars: Stories by Kanishk Tharoor In one of the singularly imaginative stories from Kanishk Tharoor’s Swimmer Among the Stars, despondent diplomats entertain themselves by playing table tennis in zero gravity—for after rising seas destroy Manhattan, the United Nations moves to an orbiting space hotel. In other tales, a team of anthropologists treks to a remote village to record a language’s last surviving speaker intoning her native tongue; an elephant and his driver …

Read More »

If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino

If on a Winter's Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino

If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino Italo Calvino’s masterpiece combines a love story and a detective story into an exhilarating allegory of reading, in which the reader of the book becomes the book’s central character. Based on a witty analogy between the reader’s desire to finish the story and the lover’s desire to consummate his or her passion, If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller is the tale of two bemused …

Read More »

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky by Lesley Nneka Arimah A dazzlingly accomplished debut collection explores the ties that bind parents and children, husbands and wives, lovers and friends to one another and to the places they call home. In “Who Will Greet You at Home”, a National Magazine Award finalist for The New Yorker, a woman desperate for a child weaves one out of hair, with unsettling results. In “Wild”, …

Read More »